Home‎ > ‎

Communications Protocol and Problem Resolution Procedures

Effective home-school communication is essential to each student’s academic success and social-emotional wellness. In addition, input from parents, students and the community ensures that your schools are responsive to the needs of our community. Recognizing that it can be challenging for our community members to know to whom input, questions or concerns should be directed, we have developed the following communications protocol to serve as a guide. 

This chart is designed to help parents, students and community members connect with the appropriate staff and understand who is responsible for answering questions or resolving issues or concerns. This protocol is built on the foundational assumption that answers to questions or resolutions to problems are best found at the level closest to the issue or concern. In most cases, it is the classroom teacher or specialist at the school who should be the first person to whom a question or concern is directed.

Under ordinary circumstances, all inquiries should be acknowledged or responded to within 24 business hours by telephone or email, depending on the medium of inquiry. If an inquiry is only acknowledged (if, for example, additional research is required before a complete response can be made), the acknowledgement should also include a reasonable date by which a complete response should be forthcoming. If you are not satisfied with the outcome/response that you receive, you may elevate your concern to the next level contact, until the contact list for your topic has been exhausted.

Recommendations for Successful Outcome:

  1. Please follow the recommended protocol and allow for the initial (first) contact to resolve the issue.
  2. All parties should recognize that “tone” is difficult to read in an email and emotions can sometimes interfere with the goal of working together to resolve an issue.
  3. Carefully separate fact from opinion and confirm information received through others before considering it a “fact.”
  4. Recognize that flexibility, compromise and collaboration are essential to effective problem resolution. 
  5. Remember that educators are prohibited by privacy laws from discussing student-related issues with anyone other than the student’s parent/guardian.
Staff directories can be found on each school’s website found at www.holliston.k12.ma.us All staff members can be emailed using their last name and first initial @holliston.k12.ma.us (ex: the email address of “John Smith” would be smithj@holliston.k12.ma.us

 Topic  First Contact  Second Contact  Third Contact  Fourth Contact
 Academic Progress (K-8)  Classroom Teacher  Assistant Principal  Principal  
 Academic Progress (9-12)  Classroom Teacher  Department Leader  Assistant Principal  Principal
 Athletics  Team Coach  Athletic Director  Assistant Principal  Principal
 Attendance (Reporting Absence)  School Office      
 Budget Issues  Business Manager Superintendent  School Committee   
 Bullying/Behavior Concerns Classroom Teacher  Assistant Principal   Principal
 
 Bus Behavior Assistant Principal  Principal     
 Bus Stops  Transportation Coordinator  Business Manager     
 Class Placement Assistant Principal 
Principal
   
 Curriculum Concerns (K-8)  Assistant Principal  Principal  Assistant Superintendent  Superintendent 
 Curriculum Concerns (9-12) Department Leader  Principal  Assistant Superintendent  Superintendent 
 Extracurricular Activities  Advisor  Assistant Principal  Principal  
 Facility Rental  Central Office Receptionist  Business Manager    
 Facility Condition and Maintenance  Principal  Director of Facilities  Business Manager  Superintendent
 Field Condition and Maintenance  Athletic Director  Director of Facilities  Business Manager  Superintendent
 Free/Reduced Lunch Program  Director of School Food Services  Business Manager    
 Health  School Nurse  Nurse Leader  Principal  Director of Student Services
 Home Schooling  Assistant Superintendent      
 Kindergarten Registration  Placentino Office  Assistant Principal  Principal  
 Policy Adoption  Superintendent  School Committee    
 Policy Implementation  Assistant Principal  Principal  Superintendent  
 Pre-School Registration  Placentino Office  Assistant Principal  Principal  
 Pre-School Services  Classroom Teacher  Assistant Principal  Principal  Director of Student Services
 School Lunch Services  Cafeteria Manager  Director of Food Service  Business Manager  
 Section 504/Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)  Classroom Teacher
 Assistant Principal(K-8)
Guidance Department Leader (9-12)
 Principal  Director of Student Services
 Social-Emotional Concerns  Classroom Teacher  Guidance Counselor  Assistant Principal  Principal
 Special Education Referral  Classroom Teacher  Classroom's Special Education Liaison  Student Services Administrator  Director of Student Services
 Staff Concerns  Staff Member  Assistant Principal  Principal  Superintendent
 Student Records  School Secretary  Principal    
 Technology Use in the Classroom  Classroom Teacher  Assistant Principal  Principal  Director of Technology
 Technology - Technical Support  School Network Specialist  Director of Technology    

Contact List

Staff Directories are provided on each school’s website or contact information can be obtained by calling the main office in your child’s school.

 School  Main Office Phone  Website
 Placentino (PreK-2)
 (508) 429-0647  http://placentino.holliston.k12.ma.us
 Miller (3-5)  (508) 429-0667  http://miller.holliston.k12.ma.us
 Adams (6-8)  (508) 429-0657  http://adams.holliston.k12.ma.us
 HHS (9-12)  (508) 429-0677  http://hhs.holliston.k12.ma.us
 District Offices  (508) 429-0654  http://www.holliston.k12.ma.us


Administrative Directory

 Location  Position  Name  Email
 Placentino
 (508) 429-0647
 Principal  Jaime Slaney  slaneyj@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Assistant Principal  Susan Gleason  gleasons@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Student Services Admin.  Carol Dicruttalo  dicruttaloc@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Miller
 (508) 429-0667
 Principal  David Keim  keimd@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Assistant Principal  Erica Linares  linarese@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Student Services Admin.  Eileen Harvey  harveye@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Adams Middle
 (508) 429-0657
 Principal  David Jordan  jordand@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Assistant Principal  Jess Beattie  beattiej@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Student Services Admin.  Kelly Camp  campk@holliston.k12.ma.us
 High School
 (508) 429-0677
 Principal  Nicole Bottomley  bottomleyn@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Assistant Principal  Anne Connoni  connonia@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Assistant Principal  Patrick Kelley  kelleyp@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Student Services Admin.  Tracy Conte  contet@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Guidance Dept. Head  Dominique Ross   rossd@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Athletic Director  Matt Baker  bakerm@holliston.k12.ma.us
 District-Wide
 (508) 429-0654
 Superintendent  Bradford Jackson  jacksonb@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Assistant Superintendent  Peter Botelho  botelhop@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Director of Student Services  Margaret Camire  camirem@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Business Manager  Keith Buday  budayk@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Director of Technology  Dan MacLeod  macleodd@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Director of Food Services  Holly Everett  everetth@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Director of Facilities  Bobby Kadra  kadrab@holliston.k12.ma.us
 Transportation Coordinator  Pat Weston  westonp@holliston.k12.ma.us